Jamaican Marlon James Wins Man Booker Prize


Source SMH/AP

Marlon James has become the first Jamaican writer to win the Man Booker prize, taking the award for an epic, uncompromising novel not for the faint of heart. It brims with shocking gang violence, swearing, graphic sex, drug crime but also, said the judges, a lot of laughs. A Brief History of Seven Killings, a fictional history of the attempted murder of Bob Marley in 1976, was “an extraordinary book”, said Michael Wood, the chair of judges. “[It was] very exciting, very violent, full of swearing. It was a book we didn’t actually have any difficulty deciding on – it was a unanimous decision, a little bit to our surprise.”

The shortlist was:

A Brief History of Seven Killings: Marlon James

A Little Life: Hanya Yanagihara

The Year of the Runaways: Sunjeev Sahota

​The Fishermen: Chigozie Obioma

A Spool of Blue Thread: Anne Tyler’

Satin Island: Tom McCarthy

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/books/man-booker-2015-jamaican-marlon-james-bob-marley-novel-wins-prize-20151014-gk8fdr.html#ixzz3oVbpJzwf

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s