2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards


The winners of the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced by Minister for the Arts, Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield at a ceremony held at Parliament House.

Winners across six categories were selected from a strong shortlist of 30 literary and historical works, representing a diverse mix of Australian authors and illustrators.

The winners are:

Fiction Their Brilliant Careers, Ryan O’Neill

Poetry Headwaters, Anthony Lawrence


Quicksilver, Nicolas Rothwell

Australian history Atomic Thunder: The Maralinga Story, Elizabeth Tynan

Young adult Words in Deep Blue, Cath Crowley

Children’s – joint winners Dragonfly Song, Wendy Orr and Home in the Rain, Bob Graham

For a full list of winners, author biographies, book summaries, judges’ comments and posters of the 2017 shortlisted books visit the website

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s