Miles Franklin Longlist 2018


The Miles Franklin Literary Award Longlist has been announced. The longlisted authors are:

  • Peter Carey: The Long Way Home (Penguin Random House)
  • Felicity Castagna: No More Boats (Giramondo Publishing)
  • Michelle de Kretser: The Life to Come (Allen & Unwin)
  • Lia Hills: The Crying Place (Allen & Unwin)
  • Eva Hornung: The Last Garden (Text Publishing)
  • Wayne Macauley: Some Tests (Text Publishing)
  • Catherine McKinnon: Storyland (HarperCollins Publishers)
  • Gerald Murnane: Border Districts (Giramondo Publishing)
  • Jane Rawson: From the Wreck (Transit Lounge)
  • Michael Sala: The Restorer (Text Publishing)
  • Kim Scott: Taboo (Picador Australia)

For more on the longlist go to:

And here is an ABC news item:

We will be talking about these books at Pageturners on Wednesday 8th August.

Upcoming discussions are:

13 June: Macbeth by Jo Nesbo

11 July: Our classic read is Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

8 August: Miles Franklin Literary Award Longlist (Choose one to read and try to predict the winner)

12 September: Warlight by Michael Ondaatje

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s