Miles Franklin Longlist

The longlist for the 2020 Miles Franklin Literary Award, worth $60,000, has been announced.

The 10 longlisted novels are:

The shortlist will be announced on Wednesday 17 June, with the winner announcement to follow on Thursday 16 July.

‘This year’s Miles Franklin longlist is a mix of established and newer Australian authors,’ said State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian Richard Neville on behalf of the judges. ‘Their novels give voice to a diversity of Australian characters whose common feature is their location on the margins, whether geographical, familial or societal. They explore the ripples and repercussions of childhood trauma, the healing power of friendship, and the unshakeable presence of the past.’

For Pageturners we would usually read a book from this longlist. So if you have read one of these longlisted books, please let us know your thoughts by adding a comment or two.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s