Miles Franklin Shortlist

Announcing the 2020 Miles Franklin Literary Award Shortlist:

The White Girl by Tony Birch (The University of Queensland Press)
Islands by Peggy Frew (Allen & Unwin)
No One by John Hughes (UWA Publishing)
The Returns by Phillip Salom (Transit Lounge)
Exploded View by Carrie Tiffany (Text Publishing)
The Yield by Tara June Winch (Penguin Books Australia)

University of Queensland Press
Allen & Unwin Books
UWA Publishing
Transit Lounge Publishing
Text Publishing
Penguin Books Australia

Speaking on behalf of the judging panel, Mitchell Librarian of the State Library of NSW and Chair, Richard Neville, said, “The books on this year’s shortlist, diverse in form and tone, all explore the effects of trauma. From familial stories of neglect and abuse to the national story of racial and cultural dispossession, these novels demonstrate powerfully how past trauma continues to inform the present”.

The winner of the 2020 Miles Franklin Literary Award will be announced on Thursday 16 July.

Let us know which books you have read and which author you think will win.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s